There is no custom code to display.

There is no custom code to display.

Floyd EMS wins regional service award for fifth time

May 15, 2022–7:09 p.m.


Floyd EMS has been awarded the Region 1 EMS Service of the Year Award for the fifth time, and Bud Owens, the executive director, has also earned the Dr. Virginia Hamilton Special Achievement Award for 2022.

Floyd EMS is the designated ambulance service provider to residents of Floyd County in northwest Georgia and Cherokee County in northeast Alabama.

The late Dr. Virginia Hamilton was the first female director of the 10-county Northwest Georgia Health District. She also spearheaded the development of the region’s first EMS services.

“The service award speaks volumes about the care we provide the community,” said Owens. “I am also humbled and honored to receive the award named after Dr. Hamilton. I was privileged to know her, and I highly respected her commitment to improving healthcare and service delivery in this region.”

The Region 1 EMS banquet Thursday night honored EMS providers from Bartow, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Dade, Fannin, Floyd, Gilmer, Gordon, Haralson, Murray, Paulding, Pickens, Polk, Walker and Whitfield counties.