There is no custom code to display.

There is no custom code to display.

New city commissioners to be sworn in Monday

January 12, 2020–8:52 p.m.


The Rome City Commission will welcome three new members when it meets tonight.

As always with the first meeting of a new year, the commission will take up a number of agenda items.

Superior Court Judge Bryant Durham will swear in new commissioners Bonny Askew, Jim Bojo, and Mark Cochran as well as incumbents Bill Collins, Craig McDaniel and Sundai Stevenson who were re-elected in November.

The commission will then elect a mayor, mayor pro tem, and appoint the city manager.

City Manager Sammy Rich will appoint various officials, authorizing agents, and management staff.

Commissioners are also expected to consider a Parks and Recreation Agreement including the addition of Eagle Park and the Dog Park to City Property List.