There is no custom code to display.

There is no custom code to display.

Governor declares State of Emergency following storms

April 14, 2020–6:00 a.m.


Georgia Governor Brian Kemp has said it is believed tornadoes touched down in Chattooga, Wayne, Catoosa, Walker, Upson and Murray County, which was the hardest hit.

In addition, it’s believed an EF-1 tornado hit Bartow County.

Kemp also mentioned a possible tornado in Floyd County, but that has not been confirmed by the National Weather Service.

Statewide, eight were killed; most of those were in Murray County.

“We are praying for those who lost loved ones overnight and the families dealing with severe storm damage. In coordination with private-sector partners, multiple state agencies – including the Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency, Department of Public Safety, Department of Natural Resources, Department of Transportation, and Georgia Forestry Commission – are working hard to restore power, clear debris, and provide necessary assistance to families across the state,” said Governor Kemp. “This morning, I also spoke with FEMA Administrator Pete Gaynor, and I greatly appreciate his offer of federal assistance as we work to rebuild and recover from these storms.”

49 were injured statewide.

23 homes were destroyed, 59 were damaged and others are being assessed.

The governor has declared a State of Emergency for all 159 Georgia Counties, which will facilitate the deployment of critically needed resources.

You can read the order HERE